Why do you care what I have to say?

Contemplating this introductory post brings all sorts of cliches to mind:  “Hi, welcome to my blog!  I know everybody else and their grandmothers all have blogs now, so this is just humble little me writing my thoughts, blah blah blah blah.”  I’ve rejected that type of intro out of hand, for two reasons:

  1. Blogging has actually declined in the past couple of years, so the market I’m entering is a smaller one than when I started my first blog in January, 2006.
  2. I’m not humble.

It is true that you are welcome here.  Feel free to read if you find my words interesting, or amusing, or even annoying.  I’m going to be here whether you join me or not.  The ideal situation, in my view, would be that you might find something in these musings that you can relate to, and that you might find actually helpful.

Wanting to help others is not why I write.  I write because I don’t know how not to write.  I’m always writing something or another.  It doesn’t mean I’m the world’s greatest writer, or even that I could do it professionally.  I just do it.

I’m publishing, however, because I have struggled in the past.  I have finally found ways to minimize those struggles after a lot of hard work over a lot of years.  In a rare moment of Pollyanna-ism, I feel that if I can share with others what I’ve learned, maybe they don’t have to struggle as hard or as long as I did.  Maybe that is the meaning and purpose of all that I’ve been through — the answer to my near-constant question of “Why?”

I am 34 years old.  I have a primary care doctor, an internist, a gynecologist, a rheumatologist, a neurologist, a neurologic surgeon, a dermatologist, a gastroenterologist, a cardiologist, a sleep doctor, an acupuncturist, a physical therapist, a personal relationship with my three pharmacists, and I’m currently shopping for an allergist.  This web site is not about them, because while they take excellent care of me, they take care of the sick.

This web site is about getting and staying healthy.  This site is about me.

3 Responses to “Why do you care what I have to say?”

  1. Tami Says:

    Great start Mo.

  2. Therese Says:

    Great to see you back, MoMo!

  3. WhitbutcallmeAnne Says:

    Woo to the Hoo! Glad you’re back Momo!


Leave a comment